Meth Charges Defense

Texas Meth Charge Defense

If you have been arrested for possessing, manufacturing, delivering, meth charge defense houston texas, meth charge defense attorney houston texas, meth charge defense lawyer houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense attorney houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense lawyer houston texas, meth charge criminal injury lawyers houston texasor possessing with intent to deliver methamphetamine you are facing serious consequences. A conviction for a methamphetamine charge can have lasting consequences, impacting your future career, and educational opportunities. Contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation. She will provide an aggressive defense, which may result in dismissed charges, reduced charges, or minimized punishment.

Under Texas law, Meth is classified in the category with the most addictive and dangerous drugs. This means that it is in the category that carries the most severe penalties if you are convicted.

POSSESSION OF METHAMPHETAMINE

PUNISHMENT

Weight

Classification

Punishment

< 1 gram

State Jail Felony

Sentence: 180 days – 2 years in a state jail
Fine: Up to $10,000

1 – less than
4 grams

Third-Degree Felony

Sentence: 2-10 years in prison
Fine: Up to $10,000

4 – less than 200 grams

Second Degree-Felony

Sentence: 2-20 years in prison
Fine: Up to $10,000

200 – 400 grams

First-Degree Felony

Sentence: 5-99 years in prison
Fine: Up to $10,000

400 + grams

Enhanced First-Degree Felony

Sentence: 10-99 years in prison
Fine: Up to $100,000

< 1 gram

State Jail Felony

Sentence: 180 days – 2 years in a state jail
Fine: Up to $10,000

MANUFACTURING, DELIVERING OR INTENDING TO DELIVER METHAMPHETAMINE

PUNISHMENT

Weight

Classification

Punishment

< 1 gram

State Jail Felony

Sentence: 180 days – 2 years in a state jail
Fine: Up to $10,000

1 – less than 4 grams

Second-Degree Felony

Sentence: 2-20 years in prison
Fine: Up to $10,000

4 – less than 200 grams

First-Degree Felony

Sentence: 5-99 years in prison
Fine: Up to $10,000

200 – less than 400 grams

Enhanced First-Degree Felony

Sentence: 10-99 years in prison
Fine: Up to $100,000

400 + grams

Enhanced First-Degree Felony

Sentence: 15-99 years in prison
Fine: Up to $250,000

 

LICENSE SUSPENSION

In Texas, your license will be suspended for 6 months following a drug conviction.

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF METH

In Texas, if you are driving while under the influence of meth you could be charged with Driving While Intoxicated. After an arrest for DWI, it is important to quickly contact an meth charge defense houston texas, meth charge defense attorney houston texas, meth charge defense lawyer houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense attorney houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense lawyer houston texas, meth charge criminal injury lawyers houston texas, experienced criminal defense attorney so that all avenues of attack can be preserved. Contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation. She will provide an aggressive defense, which may result in dismissed charges, reduced charges, or minimized punishment.

In Texas, a person is driving while intoxicated, if they are operating a motor vehicle in a public place while they do not have the normal use of their mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of methamphetamine. For more information on Driving While Intoxicated charges please go to my website dedicated to defending those charged with DWI offenses.

DEFENSES FOR METHAMPHETAMINE CHARGES

Brittany Carroll Lacayo will analyze your case to determine any possible defenses. If you would like to discuss your case with Brittany Carroll Lacayo you can call her office at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation, or by using the online case evaluation form.meth charge defense houston texas, meth charge defense attorney houston texas, meth charge defense lawyer houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense attorney houston texas, methamphetamine charge defense lawyer houston texas, meth charge criminal injury lawyers houston texas,

Defenses to meth charges include:

Illegal Search and Seizure

If the evidence gathered by the police was the result of an illegal search and seizure of you, your vehicle, or your property Brittany Carroll Lacayo may be able to have the evidence suppressed. If the evidence is suppressed, the prosecution may not use that evidence against you in court. If the state cannot prove their case without that evidence your case might be dismissed or you may be acquitted of the charges.

Invalid Search Warrant

If the police improperly created a search warrant or their search exceeded the scope of the warrant Brittany Carroll Lacayo may be able to have the evidence found as a result of the search suppressed.

Not in Possession

Brittany Carroll Lacayo may be able to show that you were not in possession of the marijuana. If the marijuana was found nearby or not on your person, an argument could be made that you did not have possession of it. Texas law defines possession as actual care, custody, control, or management.

POSSESSION OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA

Under the Texas Controlled Substances Act, Drug Paraphernalia includes any item that can used as a drug processing, packaging, or consumption mechanism. Brittany Carroll Lacayo handles possession of drug paraphernalia cases throughout the greater Houston area. Contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation. She will provide an aggressive defense, which may result in dismissed charges, reduced charges, or minimized punishment.

PUNISHMENTS FOR DRUG PARAPHERNALIA IN TEXAS

Simple possession of drug paraphernalia is a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $500. Distribution or possession with intent to distribute or sell drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. If the buyer was a minor, a least 3 years younger than the seller, then the sale is a state jail felony and the punishment is 180 days to 2 years in state jail and a $10,000 fine.


The information contained on this site is for general informational purposes only. The information you obtain at this website is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult a Houston criminal defense attorney for advice regarding your own individual situation. We invite you to contact Brittany Carroll Lacayo at 713-504-0506 to schedule a free initial consultation and case evaluation. Use of this website or submission of an online form, does not create an attorney-client relationship.


212 Stratford St. Houston, Texas 77006 | Phone: 713-504-0506 | Fax: 832-442-5033